Tour Down Under Jerseys that are up for Grabs

The Tour Down Under kicks off the road cycling season every year in Adelaide, Australia. This year, the Australian cycling Tour runs from the 14th – 22nd January 2017 with six stages for the professional peloton to race. An additional event is held on the 15th January called the ‘People’s Choice Classic’ which is the best opportunity to see the professionals test their skills over 50km. It’s a closed circuit race which acts as a preview to the Santos Tour Down Under, setting the tone ahead of the week. After each of the six stages, and the People’s Choice Classic, jerseys are awarded to identify the winners of different categories.

How are the Tour Down Under Jerseys Awarded to Riders?

All jerseys are awarded at the end of each stage and overall to the winner of the category. This is based on the cumulative results in each category. The Winning Team Jersey, however, is not awarded after each stage, but at the end of the Tour only. There are seven jerseys up for grabs this year:

Tour Down Under Jerseys

  1. Santos Tour Down Under Ochre Leader’s Jersey

    This jersey is presented to the rider with the fastest time at the end of each of the six stages and also the fastest cumulative time for the overall winner.

    2016 Overall Winner: Simon Gerrans, ORICA-GreenEDGE


  2. Subaru King of the Mountain Jersey

    The first five riders to get to the top of mountain climbs throughout the stages get ‘mountain points’. The one with the most points tallied up at the end of each stage wins the jersey. The overall winner is the rider with the most cumulative points across all stages  and is crowned as the King of the Mountain.

    2016 Overall Winner: Sergio Henao, Team SKY

  3. iiNet Sprint Jersey

    Awarded to the rider with the most sprint points tally – points are attained by the first three riders who cross the line at designated sprint locations along the route.

    2016 Overall Winner: Simon Gerrans, ORICA-GreenEDGE

  4. Young Rider Jersey

    Awarded to the rider with the fastest time who is under the age of 25.

    2016 Overall Winner: Jay McCarthy, Tinkoff

  5. People's Choice Classic Winner Jersey

    The cyclist who wins the People’s Choice Classic at the beginning of the Tour is rewarded with this winner’s jersey.

    2016 Overall Winner: Caleb Ewan, ORICA-GreenEDGE

  6. Winning Team

    The team with the fastest cumulative time at the end of the nine-day tour are the winners of this jersey.

    2016 Overall Winner: Cannondale Pro

  7. Most Competitive Rider

    This jersey is awarded to the rider who has instigated the most attacks, breakaways or assisted their team mates to the best advantage.

    2016 Overall Winner: Maarten Tjallingii, Team Lotto NL Jumbo

Find all Tour Down Under offers over at ProBikeKit, and join in with the Tour on #YourRide

Elizabeth Demetriou

Elizabeth Demetriou


I'm a runner at heart but since shin splints became a big part of my life, I turned to cycling as a form of cross training. I love riding track and am a regular on the Manchester velodrome; on the road I ride a Trek Lexa and I call it Toby.

Elizabeth is currently loving...